Heading to Oahu

Yeki

Forum Supporter
Hello All!

This is a duplicate post. I posted in the wrong thread this morning:no:.

I'm heading to Oahu in a couple of weeks to visit my sister in law. I'm hoping to get away on my own a couple of times during the week to do a little MD'ing. Unfortunately, I have no beach hunting experience and even if I did, I have only my F2 which will limit me to dry land. I guess my first question is... Will I still be likely to have a good, productive, fun time with the F2? Secondly... would it be worth it to rent a more specialized unit while I'm there, considering lack of experience and a possible learning curve? Thirdly... Anyone familiar with the island that has any pointers on places to hunt considering my limited hunting time? I will be staying on base at Schofield Barracks.

Thanks in advance for the help!!!!

Hey Yeki, Go on utube and type in home made sand scoops. There's a guy who live's on Oahu. He name is Pat. Maybe you can look him up when you get there. Or some how write to him before you go. I think he sells detecting stuff. He can probably get you started over there.

I am unfamiliar w/ Hawaii. If you do end up relegated to the dry sand (and that's not necessarily all that bad) w/ your F2 I'd suggest hitting high traffic areas like beach access ramps. Today's wind and tides didn't leave me anywhere to hunt but mushy deep wet and a thin stip of decent dry. I was able to get in about 1 hour or so of hunting, and pulled 5 quarters, 5 dimes, and 2 nickels all at the base of a beach access walk. If I'd had time, I would have just gone along and hit up every access ramp.

Hopefully someone from the islands will chime in with some advice that is a bit more specific.

Good luck and happy hunting!

Thanks everyone for the tips. I think Ive seen the homemade scoop before. I'll check him out.

Ike, I have as much beach experience as you do...lol. Wish I could help. Enjoy yourself and have a great time when you go to Oahu.