Noob asks: Do you skip over nickel and penny signals?

BanjoBobby

I've been detecting for a few months now and I've been digging tons of coins from parks, yards, etc. Mostly I find 1940s and more recent. I recently upgraded to an Equinox 800 and I've gotten better at distinguishing coin types.

At my usual sites I can easily spend hours digging penny after penny after penny. And when I go for nickel signals 75% of the time I get trash.

I am wondering how many of you skip over nickel and penny signals...? Is there any really good stuff I might be missing below EQ800 30s? I mostly want to find old (pre WWII) and/or silver coins.

Silver coins ring up in the dime range and up
I try to reject pennies.
I dig 12,13,14 in hopes of a gold ring.
Good luck out there!

Gold,platinum, lead, brass, copper items and silver next to or under lower conductive metal.

The "Nox" is my backup machine and I am not the most experience person that uses this tool. That being said, I have had some success using it. If you can distinguish between the Copper Pennies and the Zincoln's do so. At least I do. Finding coins back to the 1940's says your on old enough dirt. With my "Nox" I dig a lot of Nickel's but restrict myself to solid 2 way signals with readings of 12 or 12-13. I sometimes will dig shallow 13's but only when no more than a couple of inches from the surface. Sometimes you have to remove the top layer of targets to hear the deeper signals from below. As far as Silver signals the numbers I have seen have range from 25 up to 34. Hope this helps a bit. Oh and welcome to the hobby and to the forum. Trapper

On most machines, gold shows up in the nickel/foil range so… no! If i was to ignore any signal it might be pennies but i still dig them because, well, you never know.