War memorial? Newbie needs help.

Drbottlecap10

Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to this and I'm trying to look into a new spot that I have come across that could be very cool. It is a small park-square type area in a town. In the 1850s, there was a school constructed there and I think it could be a cool spot to MD. But I have discovered that the area has now been turned into a war memorial for those who have fallen in all wars. It is not anything crazy extravagant, really just a few flags and a nice area in the middle that I'm sure has some commemorative items near the benches. There looks to be plenty of grassy area to MD while staying away from the actual memorial, so if stay away from that, should I be alright? Or is this not a good idea?

Also, I've been reading and I'm almost positive this is publicly owned land. And from what I have read, if it is publicly owned, has no fences, and is not part of a national or state park, it is pretty much free game. Is this correct? Thanks!

I see you are just a few hours south of me. In fact, my in-laws are coming to visit from Perry tomorrow. :) I'll look you up next time I'm down there as there are many sites in that area I'd like to have an opportunity to hunt.