How do you go about finding the property owner?

CopperMinerAZ

Hi there, i searched for this but was unable to find it.

Lets say i found a home to detect, but nobody lives there. Its not abandoned, i checked the county assessors office and it is owned by somebody i just cant figure out who. It gives a mailing address but no name???:?:

I am still very new to this:D So i am probably missing something obvious.

I found what looks to be an old town in the middle of nowhere, when i checked the assessors office; it is all zoned as one property. According to them, it was built 1912, and the following buildings in 1938 and 1948. THAT IS OLD FOR ARIZONA!!!:shock:, We only became a state in 1912, may find some cool stuff there.

I just want to make sure i exhaust all option on getting permission and doing the right thing.

Do you have a county auditor web site. If not go to your county auditors office and do a property search. It is public records and will show owners name and address.

i use www.yellowbook.com and do a reverse lookup with the address it sometimes gives a name or sometimes gives a phone number. the reverse lookup can be used with an address or a phone number and is located at the top left of the page. good luck

One way is to walk on the property and start MDing. That will raise an eyebrow real quick. I am not condoning trespassing, but it is an option

Google "tax maps" for the city or county in question. Every county that I have searched for in my area has these available online.

You can not rely strictly on the web information. I live in a small town, the tax assessors site did not yield me accurate information. The dream house I wanted to hunt lead me down this path. Found a name and address. Did a search for the other address to see who owned that and the names did not match. I sent a letter to that address anyway explaining how I got the information. Never heard back. No phone numbers were provided.

Dead ends all plentiful online. Be careful.