trouble digging small holes

tommyb

I am an amateur metal detector and i have been having some troubles pinpointing. I am only sixteen and just received a detector for my birthday. I wanted to know if a little wizard 2 would help or not. I have a predator 1 (not exactly what i would call a good machine) and i have to dig huge holes to locate the object. Should i consider buying a different detector or should i find a way to pinpoint? Thanks

I am not familiar with the Predator 1, but I can not imagine it is any lower on the totem pole than my detector (Tracker IV). When I started I also had a heck of a time pinpointing and keeping my holes to a reasonable size. All I can say is practice! I am to the point now where you usually can't tell where I have pulled a target from the ground unless you are really looking for it. The more you practice, the easier it will be. Good tools also help when digging. You need something that will cut a smooth plug without chewing up the turf. And, you might want to look into a probe as well. I use a 6'' flat head screwdriver with a rounded down end. Usually I can hit my targets with that before I even start digging.

Again, practice, practice, practice!

Good luck!

I for one do not like digging. :mad: I prefer sand at tot lots and beaches - just scoop and sift. :D I have tried the digging and I know that it takes patience and practice - one of which I do not have! :yes:

Welcome to the forum Tom! :D

Z speaks the truth. The little wizard is for finding the object in the soil you have dug. Unless that object is within 1 inch or less of the surface of the soil, it won't see what your detector see's. So if the target is deeper than that, it won't help.

Don't be so quick to toss the detector!