Detecting in the Chihuahuan High Desert

portolan

Greetings. Thanks in advance for your help. I own a home in the high desert of the State of Chihuahua. I live in an area full of old mining camps, sawmills, railroad depots, haciendas, archaeological sites, etc. The soil is very mineralized and stony. 5000 feet in altitude. There are many prehistoric sites along rivers, caves, etc. Indians, pre-historic peoples, Apaches, miners, soldiers (US, Spanish and Mexican), traders bandits and all sorts of others frequented the area. I think it would be a hoot to go out and detect. We have abandoned factories, mines, you name it. I want a quality detector, because I have no way to get parts, service, etc. I would prefer to get everything I need in one purchase as I am hours away from civilization. I am a novice, but have been interested for years in doing this. I am now facing retirement and will have the time. Reliability is important. Lots of rocks and stones.....

I hope this gives you enough information to help me. Whenever I dig holes for plants, trees or fence posts I find something.....The earth is full of history. Pershing was all over our area with thousands of soldiers. The revolution happened in my backyard, etc etc. 600-800 is my expected price range but I can go higher or lower depending on what you suggest. I am currently in San Diego and would like to take something down to the ranch over Easter. Thanks so much for the help. I appreciate it very much.

Choices!