Lost wedding band

Sprnklr1

Hi family, I am an irrigation contractor in south Florida. My wedding ring slipped off while repairing a sprinkler pipe. The ring is 18k. The depth could be up to. 24". The soil is wet sand. In close proximity there is cable tv,phone lines and electric utility lines. I would like some recommendations for a user friendly , beginner metal detector. After this adventure it would mostly be used to locate galvanized wells or property marker pins. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks ,Jim

It would be impossible with a low cost detector to find much of anything near electrical lines due to the emi. Sorry. Also most detectors wont go more than 10 to 12 inches down.:no:

Depends on how close the EMI is, but I'd for sure get a detector with a DD coil, like an Garrett ACE 350 or a Fisher F2. Try renting a White's from a local White's dealer maybe Most White's dealers are highly knowledgeable and accommodating. Explain your situation to 'em and see what they think.

The only thing that will get that deep is a two box detector, but the utility lines will drive it crazy, and a two box won't resolve something as small as a ring anyway.

As fortune would have it I will be re-excavating the same location next week. I would like to try a locater as I dig and also as I back fill the site. I would need to purchase/rent something to have ready. I am trying to avoid buying a piece of !!!!. At the same time I don't have a couple grand laying around either.
Practical and affordable.