Military Novice Seeks Advice

NavyDT

Hello All,
Well im a relative novice to the metal detecting scene. my father purchased a Whites Classic ID for me about 10 years ago that ive used for maybe 100 hours or so. I have been in the military for a number of years and due to a recent change in marital status i will have a lot more free time on my hands this summer. I don't know if i am just unlucky but i have never found any silver to date, hell last time i went out i ended up digging 43 "nickles" that turned out to be manufactured from Miller and our good friends Corona.

now i dont know if im just doing it all wrong but i was thinking of getting a new rig to start me off on the right foot in the hobby. Ive watched some videos and read extensively on this website but im having a hard time what is real hardcore facts and what is just people personal opinions and brand loyalty.

Ive been looking on craigslist and what not, it seams i can get a used Whites M6 for 400ish, a MXT for around 600 ish. i was even considering dumping some real money and getting somthing nicer, but as ive read from other people, its not how deep you can look but how you swing it :p which leads me to think maybe a 250 wouldnt be a bad choice. to be honest i really dont know what to think.

at any rate the communitys help would be much appreciated.
Very Respectfully,
B.A Foster

Welcome to the forum!

The ACE 250 is a nice detector, but a MXT or Minelab 705 would be nicer-- more versatility.

Welcome aboard. It is aways nice to have another squid join our ranks. Best of luck.
Frog

Welcome to the forum, yep we have a squid joining the ranks.. dont worry the devil dog will treat you right;)
I have the MXT and oh boy I am so happy with it!!!
Frankie