Metal Detecting in AZ

Smokenbutch

Hi I'm new to MDing and just moved to Phoenix is it ok to MD in AZ? Can someone tell me how to find out where it is legal to MD and if it's legal do I need a permit
Thanks
Larry

Yes it's "ok to MD" in Arizona. As for the rest of your question: Can you be a little more specific on what areas you want to hunt? Then we can answer better.

I'm moving to Bullhead City in December. From what I've gathered, it goes by city statutes generally as in other states. However, once you get out into the rural and desert regions, you have to be mindful of BLM properties, Reservations and prospecting claims. If you get caught on one of those properties without permits or permission from the owner, you could end up getting a fine/confiscation up to getting shot on sight. The advice given to me was to join a prospector's club where they already have the land and you're free to do whatever you wish (prospect, MD, meteorite hunting).

loxlie, you're aware that BLM does not prohibit md'ing, right ?

And as for "getting shot on private land", or indian reservations, or claims etc... Well sure, that's an issue for private property. By all means, get permission. But I took the OP to be asking about public lands.

Hi Tom I would like to MD in and around the Phoenix area. Can someone explain what BLM properties are?

Hi Tom I would like to MD in and around the Phoenix area. Can someone explain what BLM properties are?

Google Bureau of Land Management. That is one form of federal land. There's several other types too. Like NFS is also not disallowed. Army corps of engineers is not disallowed. In fact, there's express allowances on each of those . Heck, that's even better than silent-on-the-subject (which I would also take to be not-disallowed anyhow).

Oh sure, there might be other types things about so long as it's only new stuff (<50 yrs. old) that you're finding. Ok, fine then, you're only finding new stuff :roll: