Is silver REALLY a good investment for a SHTF scenario?

Beyonder123

So hear me out. I'm no professional when it comes to the subject, and while I do hoard silver in small amounts; I have never hoarded close to the amount that some people do.

There are two types of silver investors. The first being long term investors. People who buy silver (and gold) in order to reap the benefits later on. Then there are the SHTF investor's. People who believe that the fall of the government or a great recession will cause money to become worthless and gold and silver will be the only things of value. Today I want to focus on the later.

Let's give an example. Imagine a man hoards silver for many years. Than after he has accumulated a large amount, America goes to nuclear war. Living in America becomes a lot harder. And complete destruction of many states leaves a monetary deficit. The government isnt making enough money; and starts taking what it wants. People stop keeping trust in the value of the dollar and the economy collapses.

Of course this example is a little exaggerated but no matter how you think the government will collapse it all leads back to the same question: what is considered valuable? People who believe in the SHTF scenario will say that it's gold and silver. But is that really the case? I did a bit of research and I couldn't find any evidence of gold and silver being the main form of money in any civilization that collapsed. I think that it would be good s and services that would be most valuable in a post apocalyptic world.

However I could be very wrong, and of course silver is not a bad investment. It's a lot better than putting your money in a bank and letting it gain interest. And in any recession you would be better off than anyone else. But try to change my mind. I would happily listen to the other side of the story.