Friendly Metal Detecting Forums   Big boys Hobbies
List all sponsors

Go Back   Friendly Metal Detecting Forums > Detectors and Gear > All About Detectors

Notices

Reply
  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-31-2011, 07:26 PM
(Heavy)'s Avatar
(Heavy) (Heavy) is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ChicagoLand
Posts: 1,863
Default Coil upgrade for ACE 250 SPAZING!

I think this is the right section for help, I bought a DD coil for my 250 the other day and its a little freaky. I don't think its controlable and I have been trying I put my stock coil back on to see if everything is cool again.
I will show you rather than explain, maybe you guys see something i dont. It does not matter where I take the new DD it will spaz out. I really wanted one of these bigger coils for my ACE but this one might be bad or maybe they sent the wrong one for the ACE 250?

LOVE MY ACE 250 but the new DD coil... not so much LOL

please have a look at these vids and tell me where i'm messing up.







thanks for your help in advance

Garrett 8.5 x 11" DD
PROformance Search Coil
(ACE 150, 250 & ACE 350)
Cat# 14-2222000
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-31-2011, 07:38 PM
Sonny b's Avatar
Sonny b Sonny b is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Abilene Tx
Posts: 5,141
Default

I think you have the wrong coil. I bought the excal EQ 2 for mine (it looks nothing like what you have) and it works well but not in real trashy areas. That coil does not look like it belongs on that unit.

__________________
AT Pro W/stock coil, 2 Pro Pointers , Lesche, "A Bomb",
Ace 250 W/Excelerator coil.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-31-2011, 07:40 PM
Qball Qball is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,150
Default

I would call the place you bought it from and explain to them the situation with the coil. I'm sure they would replace it for you seeing how you just bought it. I'd say there is something wrong with the coil. It is possible they sent you a DD coil for the AT Pro. Hope you get it straightened out. Keep us posted.

__________________
Teknetics Omega 8000
Tesoro Cibola w/Ground Balance Mod

Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-31-2011, 07:49 PM
(Heavy)'s Avatar
(Heavy) (Heavy) is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ChicagoLand
Posts: 1,863
Default

Originally Posted by Qball View post
I would call the place you bought it from and explain to them the situation with the coil. I'm sure they would replace it for you seeing how you just bought it. I'd say there is something wrong with the coil. It is possible they sent you a DD coil for the AT Pro. Hope you get it straightened out. Keep us posted.
Its KellyCo's and i linked Jamie a PM of the vids... I bet their technical people will see something is a miss.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-31-2011, 09:25 PM
Qball Qball is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,150
Default

Originally Posted by Chicago View post
Its KellyCo's and i linked Jamie a PM of the vids... I bet their technical people will see something is a miss.
Jamie is top notch. She will get it taken care of. Maybe Kellyco's technical dept will have some suggestions for you to try after they watch your vid's.

__________________
Teknetics Omega 8000
Tesoro Cibola w/Ground Balance Mod

Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-31-2011, 10:31 PM
SkiWhiz's Avatar
SkiWhiz SkiWhiz is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 8,402
Default

I doubt this is the problem but it is always a good idea to have a detector with an adjustable ground balance if using other than stock coil, they will usually work but it is better if you can "tune" the coil to the detector so to speak.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-31-2011, 10:47 PM
(Heavy)'s Avatar
(Heavy) (Heavy) is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ChicagoLand
Posts: 1,863
Default

Originally Posted by Sonny b View post
I think you have the wrong coil. I bought the excal EQ 2 for mine (it looks nothing like what you have) and it works well but not in real trashy areas. That coil does not look like it belongs on that unit.
Sonny I checked the cat number and my order again and this is the right coil for the 150, 250 and 350. must be something else going on, it looks just like the one in their picture too.

Garrett 8.5 x 11" DD
PROformance Search Coil
(ACE 150, 250 & ACE 350)
Cat# 14-2222000
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-31-2011, 11:04 PM
SkiWhiz's Avatar
SkiWhiz SkiWhiz is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 8,402
Default

Was the coil look new, not a scratch & dent or a refurb???? ( I didn't watch the video's my internet connection is too slow).
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-31-2011, 11:37 PM
Jerry-Wi Jerry-Wi is offline
Full Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 222
Default

It is not an At Pro Coil. The At Pro has a special connector and there is no way to connect to the Ace 250. The coil may look the same but they are not. However, the DD coil for the Ace 350 is supposed to interchangeable with Ace 250. Looks like you just may have got a bad coil.

Jerry
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-31-2011, 11:55 PM
(Heavy)'s Avatar
(Heavy) (Heavy) is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ChicagoLand
Posts: 1,863
Default

Originally Posted by SkiWhiz View post
Was the coil look new, not a scratch & dent or a refurb???? ( I didn't watch the video's my internet connection is too slow).
yes its new, never been wet and the packaging looked ok. when i first installed it the other day I thought it a little unstable but yesterday it was obviously messing with my 250. So i took it for a drive out of my neighborhood thinking there must be some freakish electrical field around my house but it did not matter where i tried to use it. I'm glad i kept my stock one because i was going to give it to a guy here who said he needed one bad.

I'm happy to swap it out with KellyCo or they can test it, fix it whatever right? It must be the new coil, look how stable my machine is with the original coil. Things happen, it's cool. I have much trust in the sense of fair play I've witnessed here with dealers.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 06-01-2011, 06:41 AM
wildman4910's Avatar
wildman4910 wildman4910 is offline
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cocoa, Fl
Posts: 211
Default

I would say you have gotten a defective DD coil.
I put the EQ 2 Pro Excellerator DD on my Ace 250 and it works perfect.
Others here have gotten the Garrett DD for their Aces and have not had problems like that.

I would give them a call and see what they will do for you, worse come to worse give Garrett a call.

Your machine is stable with the stocker on it and haywire with the DD, the DD is most likely the cause.

__________________

Beeping...Why is it Beeping!~~Not Another Beer Can!!
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 06-01-2011, 11:12 AM
Qball Qball is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,150
Default

Originally Posted by Jerry-Wi View post
It is not an At Pro Coil. The At Pro has a special connector and there is no way to connect to the Ace 250. The coil may look the same but they are not. However, the DD coil for the Ace 350 is supposed to interchangeable with Ace 250. Looks like you just may have got a bad coil.

Jerry
Good point about the AT Pro connector being different from the ACE. Didn't know they were different. That eliminates the possibility of it being the wrong coil for the ACE.

__________________
Teknetics Omega 8000
Tesoro Cibola w/Ground Balance Mod

Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 06-01-2011, 12:17 PM
KellycoChick's Avatar
KellycoChick KellycoChick is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Winter Springs, Florida
Posts: 556
Default

Ok let me get Raul or Wanda to come have a look! If it's defective we will get a new one out to you...no worries!
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 06-01-2011, 01:09 PM
(Heavy)'s Avatar
(Heavy) (Heavy) is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ChicagoLand
Posts: 1,863
Default

Originally Posted by KellycoChick View post
Ok let me get Raul or Wanda to come have a look! If it's defective we will get a new one out to you...no worries!
Thank you for taking a look and the prompt reply. I'm not looking for a refund, I want to try again to upgrade my ACE. I'm willing to pay for the shipping back if you just tell me where to exaclty. Are these coils tuneable? Is there anything I can do to make adjustment here. I'm going to put it on once more and drive it away from my house in case there is massive amout of radon blowing up through my property or new cell phone tower pointing down my block. Maybe an alien ship has landed in the woods behind my fence.

Chief says the spirits are angry
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 06-01-2011, 01:59 PM
robby4570's Avatar
robby4570 robby4570 is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Freeport, Panama City Beach, Santa Rosa Beach Florida
Posts: 4,567
Default

Originally Posted by Sonny b View post
I think you have the wrong coil. I bought the excal EQ 2 for mine (it looks nothing like what you have) and it works well but not in real trashy areas. That coil does not look like it belongs on that unit.
NO, he's got the right coil...it's a Garrett DD coil, just like mine. It will act differently than the stock one. I am just getting comfortable with mine again and I have put 20+ hours on it since I put it on.

First thing though Chicago - get that coil wire tighter or it will freak out. Mine did until I got some velcro and wrapped it in a couple places.
Secondly, run in factory default sens or 1 bar less.

Try these two things... and PM me if you'd like.

__________________
Surf PI Pro, Sovereign Elite, and an E-Trac. Flying a Q303A drone for research use. My Blog is at: https://mtldtktr.wordpress.com/

Reply With Quote


  #16  
Old 06-01-2011, 02:31 PM
(Heavy)'s Avatar
(Heavy) (Heavy) is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ChicagoLand
Posts: 1,863
Default

Originally Posted by robby4570 View post
First thing though Chicago - get that coil wire tighter or it will freak out. Mine did until I got some velcro and wrapped it in a couple places.
Secondly, run in factory default sens or 1 bar less.
Thanks Robbie for the help, I only had the coil wire like that because i was swapping them back and forth, I had wrapped it already prior to making movie and it still spazed. I have no problem backing down sensitivity a notch and frequently do that with the stock coil. I like that there is good sensitivity with the ACE and you can't run maxed out, it makes me feel there is good range built into the machine. However I just got back from installing the new DD and wraping it up properly around the shaft and drove it out of my neighborhood for one more attempt to keep it.... FAIL

This particular coil is a (no go) so i'm moving on. Hey Robbie my new V3i is on the way bro with a Garrett PP, extra big coil and shaft, hipmount, long scoop and a bunch other freebies KellyCo tossed in. Should be a pretty fun delivery day next week. Maybe do an out the box video, i like those kind of video's don't you?
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 06-01-2011, 02:41 PM
robby4570's Avatar
robby4570 robby4570 is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Freeport, Panama City Beach, Santa Rosa Beach Florida
Posts: 4,567
Default

Originally Posted by Chicago View post
Thanks Robbie for the help, I only had the coil wire like that because i was swapping them back and forth, I had wrapped it already prior to making movie and it still spazed. I have no problem backing down sensitivity a notch and frequently do that with the stock coil. I like that there is good sensitivity with the ACE and you can't run maxed out, it makes me feel there is good range built into the machine. However I just got back from installing the new DD and wraping it up properly around the shaft and drove it out of my neighborhood for on more attempt to keep it.... FAIL

This particular coil is a (no go) so i'm moving on. Hey Robbie my new V3i is on the way bro with a Garrett PP, extra big coil and shaft, hipmount, long scoop and a bunch other freebies KellyCo tossed in. Should be a pretty fun delivery day next week. Maybe do an out the box video, i like those kind of video's don't you?

Well, Garrett has been known to turn out lemons once in a while... (I know I'll get flamed AGAIN for that!) but as long as Kellyco works with you and gives you an RMA # so you don't have to pay any shipping, then I guess it's all good. I hope you get a DD that works for ya! Mine is working good for me.

It sounds like that delivery day WILL be a good one for sure! I can't say as I have ever watch any unboxing vids. My 'puter is a tired old Toshiba Satellite and vids are kinda slow on it so I don't do vids much. BUT I'LL WATCH YOURS!!! Looking forward to it in fact.

__________________
Surf PI Pro, Sovereign Elite, and an E-Trac. Flying a Q303A drone for research use. My Blog is at: https://mtldtktr.wordpress.com/

Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 06-01-2011, 02:48 PM
robby4570's Avatar
robby4570 robby4570 is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Freeport, Panama City Beach, Santa Rosa Beach Florida
Posts: 4,567
Default Just watched the vid, mine will do that too...

If I turn it on inside the RV. I have to go outside to turn it on. Defaulting it worked the one time I had this happen outside...

__________________
Surf PI Pro, Sovereign Elite, and an E-Trac. Flying a Q303A drone for research use. My Blog is at: https://mtldtktr.wordpress.com/

Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 06-01-2011, 03:16 PM
(Heavy)'s Avatar
(Heavy) (Heavy) is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ChicagoLand
Posts: 1,863
Default

Originally Posted by robby4570 View post
If I turn it on inside the RV. I have to go outside to turn it on. Defaulting it worked the one time I had this happen outside...
I can't wait to live your gypsy lifestyle Mike... maybe we go prospecting together in the not so distant future. Or do some of the finer beaches. You know they opened Chicago beaches yesterday only to have to close them because all the low life gang activity turned out to spoil it for people. It won't be long now and I will be saying this to Obama town.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XSGqQPUDb9s
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 06-01-2011, 03:32 PM
robby4570's Avatar
robby4570 robby4570 is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Freeport, Panama City Beach, Santa Rosa Beach Florida
Posts: 4,567
Default

Yeah, I hear ya on the gangs sh!t. Low life waste of oxygen if you ask me... As far as the "gypsy lifestyle", it ain't all it's cracked up to be... it's good but we aren't retired, the wife works and I am looking for a job. The wife's job is in Panama City, we stay in Panama City Beach when she works and then we go to her sister's in Santa Rosa Beach when she's off. We have 11 acres in Freeport but the road into our piece of property is a dirt/sand road and we can't take the RV on it. So we are working on finding out how to get the road paved as we were told that it was supposed to be when we bought the land. But I do love living in the RV and it's sure nice to have your home with you no matter where you are. Of course, Diesel prices are killing us right now.

__________________
Surf PI Pro, Sovereign Elite, and an E-Trac. Flying a Q303A drone for research use. My Blog is at: https://mtldtktr.wordpress.com/

Reply With Quote


Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ACE 350 coil upgrade? Dirtfishn350 All About Detectors 4 03-12-2013 12:51 AM
coil upgrade kingman mikey Metal Detector Accessories 3 01-30-2013 02:10 PM
Coil upgrade? XCOREcsw All About Detectors 0 01-28-2013 12:45 PM
coil upgrade 209Ace Metal Detector Accessories 0 11-17-2012 01:11 PM
help with coil upgrade zapper99 Coinshooters and Relic Hunters 2 09-29-2010 11:15 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.