Any BH Detector in the 8" coin range in Real Life use?

TCosbyJr

Forum Supporter
I know the advertised depths of any metal detector are inflated (just like everything else in life). I'm not sure if the advertised coin depths are done with wet ground and a test bed, bald faced lies, or the absolute best conditions to be found outside of the real world.

Now that I've used my Bounty Hunter Tracker IV out detecting just short of 30 hours in a variety of locations/soil/weather/and coil sizes I have a good idea of it's potential. I'm still learning, but the maximum depth I have ever found a coin is in the 4" to short of 5" mark with the standard 8" coil (which actually measures 8 1/4"). Using my 4" Gold Nugget coil gets nearly the same results with a little less depth.

The soil in my Indiana area is not highly mineralized or anything and is mainly a typical topsoil but can vary to clay or even a sand mix. I have never seen the ocean, let alone ever plan to dig in it or on any beach so wet sand/black sand/salt levels/water/etc. are of no concern to me.

It seems the rule is to cut the advertised depth in half to find the real maximum depth to be expected. My BH Tracker IV claims 8" on coins but as mentioned does only half of that.

My dad has a Garrett Ace 250 and detects coins that my MD does not make a signal on even in all metal mode with no discrimination. It's a bit disheartening to know I am leaving behind many treasures, and I'd like to find a MD that has the depth to find them.

I have been researching all other BH brand detectors trying to find one with a real depth maximum range of 8". It seems most silver and old coin finds are found typically in the 6" to 9" range so I am looking to find a MD that really can detect to that depth.