Detecting around old iron mine settlement.

eightstrgs

I plan on checking out a old settlement around old iron ore mining operation that closed up back in 1870s. This will be next year after the ground thaws. Looking for your opinions on what kind of havoc this will cause my detector with all the iron in the ground. I'll be searching for relics and of course coinage and whatever. I know I'll find iron. I'm hoping whatever metal detector I decide on purchasing will waive out the iron. I've been thinking about the Teknetics Delta 4000. Or something in the $200-$300 range.
It'll probably come down to how well I get to know the machine or maybe just too much iron.

Okay! I didn't get any opinions, so let me try to rephrase here.

Has anybody ever tried detecting around old 1800s closed down iron mine operations? Or is it just a stupid attempt and waste of time with all the iron in the ground?
I've never done it before, but I'd like to hear from anyone who may have tried.

The site I plan on visiting once had a store and mercantile and homes built around the mining operation. I don't plan on going around any of the mines. With my luck, I'd probably fall in one never to be seen or heard of again! I only plan on locating and checking around the building sites with hopes of finding some historic relics and whatever else got left behind after the mines shut down in 1870s.

So has anybody ever tried a place like this? Would like to hear about your experience and how you handled it in a iron infested area.

I have had some luck in areas like that, but you need to find where the camps were if any. If you dis iron you may pass up on some good relics. So slow grid around the camp sites would be the way to go.