Huntington Beach Southern California.

Hoshnasi

Forum Supporter
I am a beach noob and heading out tomorrow afternoon to try my hand. If anyone is going that way tomorrow send me a pm.

i'm VERY, VERY NEW to MD'ing. have an ACE 250 that i just purchased from "Fried Electronics". basically just ended up buying the first thing i saw is what it REALLY amounted to. so by no means did i even have a CLUE on what i was buying. can't go this weekend, but can plan for something. FINALLY received my Pro Pointer from OpticsPlanet (good company), but MAN are they EVER SO SLOW to ship. Anyways, I've been hoping to do some hunting on the beach, but 1) am a TOTAL newbie (a.k.a. FNG... sorry for that abbrev, but it fits me right now) 2) don't know if going to get "cuffed" by local PD just because I'm MD'ing and finally 3) I'm going to admit am a little nervous when it comes to meeting folk... so this forum thing and what not is VERY new to me as well... i guess you can say that I "found the front door" and all I have to do is step 1 foot out... well, here it goes.

I am going to be in Southern Cal, Long Beach, in July and want to detect on the beach there. Is it legal to MD on the beach there? If it is, do you need a permit or anything? Where can you find these answers out for sure? I can't find anything on the city of Long Beach's website about metal detecting. Thanks for any help.

No permit needed for detecting the beaches, though the Long Beach sand has Alot of trash for you to dig.
HH
Jim

If any of you Cali Hunters want to do a beach hunt and BBQ we should plan it.

LOTS of depositors on the beaches now.

I'm close to all the LA beaches, and can do Huntington or about anywhere in Orange Country.

Robin is one of our members who might come, also GStout.