Email Permissions

AndrewCNJ

Elite Member
I don't have much time to door knock - so I've been trying my luck with sending emails to farms and property owners. I've been having a lot of luck and getting some great permissions out of it. Here's a template if anyone would like to use my method:

Greetings ________:

My name is Andrew _______ - I have been a resident of Monmouth County for 26 years. I am also an avid metal detectorist - a hobby for us history lovers.

I am writing because I am interested in the history of your property. As you know, __________ County has a long history dating back to the late 1600's. Your property sits on land that was very active during colonial and revolutionary war times. (Insert history specific to the property you are asking permission for).

I was hoping you would be interested in allowing my detecting buddy (_____) and I to look for historical artifacts on your property. Anything found will be turned over to you - and you could donate these items to the Historical Society or keep them for your own. We like to keep old coins if you would agree to that because this is what we collect.

We have spent hundreds of hours detecting various sites throughout Monmouth County. We often find musket balls, flat buttons and early American and British copper coins.

If you're interested in finding out what could be hidden on your property, let us know! We could bring extra equipment if you or anyone else is interested. We only dig up to 12 inches and replace any plug - there will be no damage done to the property whatsoever. Weekends work best for us - and we would only search specific fields with your consent. We like to stick to fields and stay out of any manicured lawn-type areas.

Feel free to email back or call. Thanks!

Andrew _______
(phone number)
(I also insert a picture of myself)