Hello,, I'm new to this great hobby..

BazookaBlow

Hey everyone?

I?m new to this site and to the hobby. My 10 year old son has a friend that had an MD, so he wanted one for his birthday. It was Monday. I did a lot of research on what medal detector to get for him, as I knew nothing about them. That?s how I found this site. I ended up getting him the Bounty Hunter IV because it was in the price range that I wanted to spend on that one gift.

I took him out Monday and Tuesday. A lot of the stuff we found was junk to me, but everything we find has been treasure to him. Anyway, this has made me want one for myself now. I think I have become addicted to this hobby!

Let me give you guys a little history on the places that we have searched: My Aunt lives in a small community in North Texas that was very big in the early 1900?s. They had two stores, a bank, two gins, two churches, a school, a barber shop, a grave yard, a lumber yard, and a train station. Trains did and still do go through the middle of this small town. This was a big farm community.

Now, the only structures that still stand are: The old general store, the bank, one of the gins, and one of the churches. The church is the only one still being used today.

I took him to the old school site first. That?s where we found the old stove door, and this hinge. They were both down about 5?. We only spent about an hour there. Still a lot more to search there.

We went to the church and found all of these coins. They were all within about 10 feet of each other. I don?t know anything about them so, if anyone could help me out on them, that would be great. I got tired of digging yesterday, so we still have a lot to search there.

We then started searching my Aunts land. My grandfather built the house in 1902 on 5 acres. We found the rest of the stuff there, and haven?t even begun to scratch the surface of that property.

Thanks for reading my long post. I hope everyone enjoyed the history lesson.:lol:

pic1.jpg