Somber days ahead, for us all

hawgdawg

Forum Supporter
Just some thoughts before I head out.
Friday a good friend of 16 years had a stroke. He's a Marine Corps Vietnam Veteran. I've rode motorcycles half way across the country with this man, and others like him.
I'm a member of the American Legion, out of respect for our veterans , which I am one also.
We have 1 WW11 veteran at our post that still attends our monthly meetings . He is 95. Is still sharp in mind , but his body is failing.
We have a few Korean War veterans , they are in their 80s.
We have some Vietnam Veterans, and their health is going down as well. A lot of these may be attributed to Agent Orange.
I'm a Marine veteran , of Grenada and Beruit. And feel that I wouldn't make a pimple on a knats a$$ compared to some of these men.
Point here is, my brother is dying . He's in a coma now . I'm Probably on my way to see him for the last time. We have been talking of another road trip together this year, but things may be changing. There are things about this man that I can not tell, but believe me, if he considered you a friend , you had no better . My true friends, as with most people , are really fewer than you may think. When my brother passes, I will have one less, and not many more to go . I have friends, but the ones of this caliber are few .
So cherish every minute you have with your true friends, they are few.
Thank you to all of our veterans.
Semper Fi my brother.

THANK YOU for your service to our country.

It is men like you all that make it possible for the rest of us to have the quality of life that we do. I never served, but I appreciate and admire those who do and have.

If you ever need someone to talk to, I'm a great listener when need be.

I wish your brother a painless transition if that is how the cards fall.

You're both in my thoughts.

Saying a prayer for your friend and for you. I hope a miracle happens....