Pinpointer Lanyard loop

Mike 257

Forum Supporter
Just bought my first pinpointer today and Im new to this hobby. I notice there is a loop hole on the end of the pinpointer. Does anyone tie a lanyard so they don't lose there pinpointer?

With all my other gear,
I think that a lanyard is just something to get in the way, or tangled up with my head phone cord, or when hunting in a wooded area.
I just keep it in it's sheath, that is attached to my finds pouch.
Maybe, I would use a lanyard if I was water hunting.

I have two brand new lanyards still in plastic wrap, and access to another I collected over years. I've never put one on a pinpointer, BUT that is the purpose of that attatchment spot you indicated.

I've dropped a PP'r just once over 5 years. My personal dislike about attatching myself to my PPR is the additional feeling of being tethered.

I have never used the sheaths either though. Mine go into a deep pant's pocket. I just don't understand tectors losing pinpointers I guess.

It probably depends on where you hunt, if you are well maintained yards, parks and lots, there probably isn't too much of a need for it. But if you hunt woods, pastures & fields where it would be more difficult to see if left, I would say yes.

I've seen just enough of "I lost my pinpointer post" to add a lanyard for my country hunts.