My Very First Beach Hunt

EyeDetectLove

Still a total and complete newbie here.

I'm not too fond of the idea of metal detecting at the beach. It's too hot, too many people. If I wait until everyone leaves, there leaves not enough day for me to have fun. I don't know. I just never seem to think it'll be fun.

Well, my buddy has a house on the beach. And this is my 3rd time visiting. I decided to detect right outside his back deck. And then I went out and scoured the beach for 2 hours. Result? NOTHING at the beach but ONE toy car and a bunch of trash. Outside his door? A few things. Some quarters, a Canadian dollar coin, a bunch of corroded zinc pennies and one 50 cent peso. (pictured)

I'm not diggin' the beach. (pun intended)

2ilk1og.jpg

First Beach Hunt

You will probably get more responses with a posting in the Beach and Water section. You didn't mention what area you were hunting, but beach hunting takes a certain skill set that is different from dirt hunting. One of the main things is to scout out where people congregate on the beach. More people = more treasure. Proper detector and sand scoop is a must. Recovery is certainly easier in the sand. Hope you have better success, but there is always dirt hunting available. Good luck!!

Keep at it EYE, you will be finding the good stuff soon. Good Luck, Happy Hunting.

You are right...Its horrible! I hate it every year! Its NO Fun at ALL!
Mindless swinging for miles and miles of sand! I kept track a few years ago...I walked over 100 miles of beach barefoot detecting in July alone!

Really I hate it...its exhausting and theres a lot of quiet between pings, but I live right here in an area with all these beaches so I sorta gotta do it...