SE Explorer Pro Question

ollievon

Elite Member
Just curious, but how many of those still using this machine have ever tried the learn feature of the machine...basically, fill the screen with full reject and then scan a number of coins you have found (one at a time, obviously) for it to accept and then save, on the to next coin, etc.

I just wondered since over my 20+ years of MDing I've got a nice collection of finds (Mercs, IH, flying eagle cents, standing quarter, Walkers, Morgans, etc.) so I'm wondering if the learn feature would be beneficial in a park - I like the dig as much as the next person, but if I can always get a leg up on the discrimination train, I'm always for it.

But, yes I know that I may (and probably always will miss something), but I feel guilty not using the machines advantages over my old 705.

Right now I have the screen opened up NO IRON MASK, and I'm just relying on tone alone - which I always have and I've learned to dig by tone, same as I graduated do on the 705, just run it ALL METAL and listen.

So, are all the bells and whistles something to be ignored...or does the learn feature have some merits?

I would not rely on that feature. The reason is: There are random "bounces" (up or down) that you would likewise be teaching the machine to accept.

Or if you were to study the *exact* cross-hairs, and edit in *just* that coordinate, you would miss out on the "bounce" when in actual field conditions (unless it were shallow and hit consistently in that narrow window each time).

Better to just memorize where, on the 3d screen that your objects are in the range of. And once you're on a suspected targets, if you wave over it, x-ing 90* around it, centering it to get to the strongest signal, you can eventually figure out the recurring possible spot, even despite the bounces.