Collections & displays

steve in so la

Forum Supporter
Reading Alan's post about his help on the archaelogical dig reminded me of something. Some years back I worked as a volunteer at the historical society. Man, they had duplicates of just about everything - before the Civil War to recent past. I would inspect items and catalog them.
There were a kazillion cabinets with multiple drawers that held things. Most items would never see the light of day again - so said one of the head men.
It sure does seem better to have many displays by non historical people than many never to be seen treasures stored away. Kinda like the ending of "Raiders of the Lost Ark".
Steve in so az

Kinda like the ending of "Raiders of the Lost Ark".

Yep, I remember the ending. A huge warehouse full of crates.

Isn't it nice that we can share our finds on the forum? I love seeing what other people are finding :D

I have a friend that found a cannon ball in a creak
when he was a kid.

His father had a huge collection of Indian artifacts.
The museum ask him to donate them. He did. They
are never to be seen again. There was not so much
as a thank you in writing. Nothing to show for what
his father did for history's sake.......?

When he was asked to donate his cannon ball, he
refused.

Do you blame him?

Happy Huntun,

Tabdog

Tabdog: Since there was no official museum response, I bet they ended up in someones personal collection. Even museum workers can be crooks.

Rayland - I personally know an archie who has dug indian artifcts on his mantle at home. Steve in so az