Choices

DW0378

Forum Supporter
For those preferably that have used both machines. I am looking for a salt water machine for use on Long Island. Choices narrowed down to CZ 21 and the excal 2. Both seem like great machines but from what I have read the Minelab has issues with durability and sounds like it will need some upgrades out of the box and while I don't abuse my stuff i'm not gentle either so that has me worried a bit. The CZ seems that it's built like a tank from what I have read. I am a noob at the salt water and have A Deus for the land what should I think about before deciding on which one I want? Not sure its the kind of money I want to spend right now but is the 3030 really worth the extra cash if I opted to go that route? I am also going thru all the threads I can find here but most seema year or more old.

Last edited:
if it was me all day every day Fisher cz 21

love them CZ 21 built like a tank and it just works. I played with a minelab for few weeks it was ok but she never really clicked with me like the Fisher did. But thats just me you could feel differently.

Try to hook up with someone or rent each to get a feel.

HH Hunting Koz

I've been detecting Long Island beaches for about 10 years now. The Cz 20 or 21 whether 8 or 10 inch coil works great for me. I've never used the Excalibur but see a lot of guys using them. And what you said about durability, I agree with you only from what I read on the forums. The cz is a tank and holds up to just about anything

I've been detecting Long Island beaches for about 10 years now. The Cz 20 or 21 whether 8 or 10 inch coil works great for me. I've never used the Excalibur but see a lot of guys using them. And what you said about durability, I agree with you only from what I read on the forums. The cz is a tank and holds up to just about anything