City Owned Property

youngnewiowan21

There is a couple of properties that my city own, not public like parks or anything, and I was wondering what department or who I would ask to get permission to detect them? Any Suggestions?

There is a couple of properties that my city own, not public like parks or anything, and I was wondering what department or who I would ask to get instantly denied to detect them? Any Suggestions?

Fixed it for you.

If it's not posted, gated, or fenced, you will have to make a judgement call on whether or not to detect it. The worst that can happen is that you will be asked to leave. City property is legally no different than a curb strip.

I'm not a lawyer....proceed at your own risk.

There is a couple of properties that my city own, not public like parks or anything, and I was wondering what department or who I would ask to get permission to detect them? Any Suggestions?

If they're city owned, and not fenced or posted, why would you need "permission", to begin with? All you need to do is make sure there's not a city-wide ban on detectors (where it is simply not allowed within the entire city, for instance). And if it's not prohibited, then .... so be it.

And rarely EVER is there a city-wide ban (I can't think of any, as a matter of fact), for just the "city in general". Oh sure there are some cities who might have such a rule for their PARKS. But .... as your post says, this is not parks. And a park rule (like "closed at sunset", etc...) doesn't necessarily apply to all city land (lest how would any of us drive, or walk our dogs after sunset, down city streets, doh!)

When you say "city owned" and "not public like parks or anything" confuses me. So, without further clarity on what type of city property you are talking about, I'd just ask you to remember the old saying: Seek advice but use your own common sense. Please also note that I'm not suggesting that you ask permission...just seek advice.