Best metal detector for under $300

Mpetersen

I was thinking Garrett ace 300, but post any other metal detectors you think are the best under $300

I like the Fisher F2/F22 in that price range. Nokta’s upcoming Simplex sounds very interesting too.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

i'm new to the hobby. did a bit of research and decided on the fisher f-22. it looks and sounds much like the eurotek, in that it has the factory set ground balance. i think they are both made by the same company, i could be wrong about that. but i was in the same price range. keep in mind you will still want to get a quality pinpointer and a good digger. add another $150 or more. make sure you like the hobby enough to invest that much.

Hi Mpetersen
welcome to the forum and great question. A couple of questions for you: where do you live (generally) and where do you want to detect - like salt beaches, freshwater lakes and rivers, do you need a waterproof detector or just a dry land detector? Those factors make a big difference. There aren't any waterproof detectors (until the Simplex is released) under $300 unless you can find a slightly used Fisher F44 or a very used one of the Garrett AT series.

For normal (not highly mineralized soil) dry land/dry sand at the beach use along with some shallow fresh water shoreline hunting with just the coil submerged a bit, the Garrett Ace series, Fisher F22, the Teknetics Ameritek Minuteman (same as the Eurotek Pro but less expensive for some reason) and the Whites Treasuremaster will do fine.

good luck,
Jeff

I live in iowa, i mostly metal detect in baseball fields and on grassy areas hope so that helps, jeff
Thanks

Best Metal Detector Under $300

Please List some metal dectors under $300 dollars, i hunt grassy areas, old baseball fields, etc , I live in iowa.
Thanks

You may be able to get a used Tesoro Vaquero for around $300 and that would definitely give you the deepest machine for the money.