How many have lost a lot of weight from metal detecting?

hillbillydigger

Elite Member
Seeing as how the White's tv commercial tries to promote metal detecting as a way to lose weight I'm curious how many have actually lost significant weight from it? I detect many hours a week, plus I work out at gym, but honestly haven't noticed that detecting really burns calories though in theory it should. Maybe I should have gotten a White's detector to lose weight?:laughing:

I was bored, lazy and turning into a fat slug.

I started MD'ing and cut out almost all high fructose corn syrup at the same time and lost just over 30 pounds by June.

It's still gone, I don't think I lost any more. I graduated high school 27 years ago the same weight I am now.

I must have because I'm always pulling up my pants when out swinigng!

That's why I travel light, digger and pinpointer. I see guys with 12 things hanging from their belts, from shovels, phones, screwdrivers, diggers etc. I am like NO WAY!!! I have hard enough time keeping my draws up!

Started this hobby 2 years ago at 210lbs and now 190lbs. Some of it is from detecting, but I also train in the gym with weights, treadmill, elliptical etc etc

The hiking, bending, digging, walking HAS to be a positive aspect of the hobby :)

No weight loss but it has been good for my knees and lower back. The big plus is you get outdoors and mentally refreshed.

Maybe I should say I have lost some weight. But considering how my diet is strict now, quit eating out and eat at a calorie deficit since I weigh all my food on a scale and log my intake daily plus I am getting many days at least 3 hours of exercise sometimes as much as 7 hrs in a day yet my weight loss hasn't been what I would consider major. Maybe 15 lbs since I started detecting, but at my weight that isn't significant.