Detector for my Son

luked

so my Sons birthday is March 7th he turns 12. I have been detecting off and on for quite a few years and just got more back into it the past few months and waiting on some nice weather here to start swinging a little.

for his birthday I would like to buy him his own machine. Years ago for Christmas I bought him one of the little cheap Minelab GO Finds. it was ok and he did use it but really I think has kind of outgrown it now.
so I am wanting to buy him a decent machine.

was looking to see what you all might suggest for him a starter unit.

Since he's only 12 I'd get him the same machine you use. That way you can teach him, and in time, he can show you what he's learned. Sounds like a great opportunity to really connect with him.

If he's feeling "sassy" and wants something different than his old man, you could look at a Nokta Makro Simplex + or a Minelab Vanquish. Simplex is waterproof, more rugged, and a bit cheaper. I love mine.

would like him to have his own. and I swing an eTrac and still learning it so don't want to go that route with him LOL.
I had thought about a Fisher F2. that is what I started with and was a nice machine but I know they have so many more out since I bought my first one years ago and I haven't kept up with them.

A year ago I would have said an F2, F22, Teknetics Minuteman or the Go Find but since then the Simplex and Vanquish have arrived. I have swung both and the Vanquish because of its ergonomics is the better choice IMO for a youngster at least until the Simplex has more coil choices. So.....

Minelab Vanquish 440 with the 10" coil and fully adjustable shaft and armrest. It comes with arm strap, coil cover and control box cover. 2.6 pounds fully extended and feels lighter. It should sound similar to your Etrac and really does hunt a lot like the Equinox.