• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

CTX3030 or Equinox 800

ScottM

CTX3030 or Equinox 800?

I have the money for the more expensive detector and was leaning towards the CTX 3030 before the Equinox came into the picture.

Then seeing all the talk on the Equinox 800.

Looking for recommendations for when you would advise someone into one model or the other?

Currently have a Whites MXT I have been using for going on 8 years....mainly land hunting...parks/fields....Make it to the beach maybe once a year for a week...use my Whites BeachHunter there.

Please let me know your thoughts...I know I may be comparing a Lamborghini to a stock car. But wanted opinions.

Thanks.

CTX by far if you have the money for the type of hunting you said you do. If you have been using the MXT for the last 8 years you will be used to very accurate depth guage and ID. CTX is as good or better at both. Equinox Is not as good in either department.

If your a coin hunter the 3030.

Disclaimer, I have not used the 800, however Minelab itself claims it wasn't designed for high conductors and won't compare to the Etrac or CTX. The CTX ability to produce a accurate ID on a high conductor while mixed with iron amazes me. And in the Ferrous Coin settinng the lack of falseing just blows me away.

No question about it. CTX3030. IMHO, best coin hunting machine on the market. Again, just my opinion. Call me at Antiques Detectors, Ill make you a deal on the 3030. 620 856 5190,