First old penny

Edward1971

First off , I live in Wichita,ks . I have been swinging for 8 years. Where I live it is really badly developed. Most of the old ground is under newer buildings. Or housing development. So the last couple of years I have been hitting smaller towns around me. Today I finally found my oldest penny. It was a wheat cent. It was a 1910 or 1918 D . My oldest quarter so far is a 1935 . And oldest dime is two mercury dimes. Oldest nickel is a 1942P . When I found the the wheat penny, I thought to my self, this might be the day I find a Indian. But to my disappointment I didn’t find one. Lots of clad. And only one wheat. But to me it was still a good day. The hunt continues . Here’s a picture of my oldest wheat. Made some one can make out the date better than me. Thanks for reading my post and happy hunting.

Attachments

• 86146998-FE9D-4C65-A44C-36562E78FDD2.jpg
    86146998-FE9D-4C65-A44C-36562E78FDD2.jpg
    43.6 KB · Views: 451
Nice!!! I’m still looking for an Indian head myself.... an I see 1918, good luck on the Indian one day it will come that’s at least what I tell myself haha

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Congrats on the old penny. IHPs most that I have dug come in like a zinc penny. Dig any zinc tone that's 6" or more.

Do you door knock? If not that’s a great way to find older coins

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Still haven’t work up the nerve To try that yet. Most of th older properties around here are on the bad side of town or the higher class , with really nice yards. Do really know how to go about asking for permission . Thanks for the input though.

Congrats on the old penny. IHPs most that I have dug come in like a zinc penny. Dig any zinc tone that's 6" or more.

Thanks for the information. Most of the zinc’s that I find are in 70’s high tone but choppy. And less than two to four inch . I thought about buying one from a coin dealer . Just so I can see how they sound.