Advice: Thinking About Joining Army EOD

mysteriousnesss

Elite Member
So I have a 4 year bachelor's degree in chemistry and although I have several options for employment (police, a start-up company involving chemistry, and a brewery analysis position), I have always found myself bouncing back to joining the army. I guess I just figured that there might be someone on this forum that could give me some real insight into what I'd be getting myself into. Without going into detail as to how, I do have a great deal of experience with explosive synthesis and I have read quite a bit regarding demolitions. Now, after 3 years of getting to know my metal detector, I've found out exactly what I love in this life. I love guns, explosives, quick thinking, and my trusty metal detector. I have always wanted to do EOD for the Boston Police Department, only to find that they require quite a bit of time serving as a patrolman before entering their bomb squad program. I guess I just want to know if anyone on here has actually served in this specialty, and if they would talk a little with me one-on-one and explain some details. I know most of you would recommend talking to a recruiter, but I really want someone who genuinely served/know's someone who did. My one qualm with joining the service has always been the lengthy commitment, but now I'm looking for a little more structure in my life and am starting to wonder if this is the type of structure I need.

First, let me preface my remarks by informing you that I grew up during the Vietnam War. DO NOT JOIN THE MILITARY! You do not want a bunch of politicians running your life.

Now, on to possibilities. There is the defense industry--they make a lot of things that go bang and boom, and they make a lot of money doing it. So, there is a possibility.