Salt Water Beaches-Best Detector??

jojo765

Hi All,
I am a newbie to the forum, and relatively new to metal detecting. I am interested in purchasing a new detector for use on saltwater beaches in N FL. I am considering the Whites Beach Hunter ID or the Whites Surf-Master PI Pro so that I can detect wet sand & shallow surf. Presently I have a Minelab Xterra-50, which is great in dry sand, but does not do well at all on wet sand or in shallow water.

Any advice, opinions, or experiences regarding one Whites model vs the other for saltwater beaches would be appreciated. Also if anyone has a suggestion for any other saltwater beach detectors made by other companies I would appreciate hearing about those as well.
Thanks much :)

Welcome :yes:
Salt water beaches present a problem to metal detectors in general.
Pulse Induction units are best at seeing through these minerals. They however do not have discrimination. It boils down to what you want to spend and are you going to use this detector for only beach/water hunting. If only beach/water hunting then the PI would be the better choice dollar for dollar. The Minelab Excalibur in my opinion is still the better overall detector as it can be used on land as well as beach/water conditions with VLF operation and discrimination also. The price is up at the top end however. The BeachHunter ID is also a good choice and offers multi frequency operation as well as discrimination.
All in all it is a choice between top end money and a detector that "sees" through the salt conditions better but finds it all.
Hope this helps and if you need anythign else please let me know. :yes:

Thank you for the input, I appreciate your advice and find it helpful. I do plan to keep my Xterra for non-beach uses & for occasions when I strictly plan to hunt in dry sand, so this new one I plan to get will be strictly for beach/water use. Thanks again  :grin: