What to do with common silver coins?

eTXOne

I'm a newbie here, and I've been hitting the parks and local tot lots pretty hard lately. I've found some silver, mostly clad, and a tone of pull tabs naturally.

All of this hunting has got me thinking about how to get the most out of this hobby, so I have been looking more closely at the dates of my pocket change, researching Key dated coins, double dies, etc. I even bought a small magnifying glass to check these. I figure if I happened to have some clad with any of these traits I would research them and try and sell it.

But my next thought was about silver coins, I wondered what most people do with their silver coins. I figure the older silver would be easy to find a buyer for, but what about newer silver?
what do you do with your silver nickels, dimes and quarters?

Hoard, hoard, hoard those silver coins. Why on earth would you sell? Never could do that myself. It was hard enough to find em to begin with! Just pass them on down to your kin when you're old and grey, that's what I say. :cool:

Most of what you're describing would be considered 'junk silver', very easy to sell but not terribly valuable. Because it's silver content is well known and standardized, people usually buy it a markup over face value, like 10 times face or 20 times face, it all depends on where silver spot price is.

As with anything, a coin dealer or metals buyer (cash-for-gold type places) will be quickest sell but lowest price. Ebay, craigslist, or even right here on the forum will probably get you better money.

It sounds like you're already checking dates and condition for things worth more than melt.

Lastly, you mentioned silver nickels? They were only made during part of WW2 and have a different silver percentage than dimes, quarters, and halfs. You are not likely to find them in significant quantities, in ~20 years of looking through change i've only found 10 or so.