Hello to all

Thor

Hey I'm new to metal detecting. I actually have not even gotten a chance to go out. I bought a used Garrett Ace 300. Ever since I was a young lad I've always wanted a metal detector. I was always going out and hunting even though I never got one from my parents. Now that I'm older married and have my own daughter I thought this might be a fun thing for both my daughter and me to do together. I plan on getting her a kids model from the local store if she wants me to down the line.
But I'm really excited about getting out there and trying it out but I thought I would do a bit more research into metal detecting before I start. I accidentally found this forum while looking for tips on hunting and thought I'd join up for any help I could get.

Welcome to the forum Thor. You're right, metal detecting is a great family hobby.

Yeah I'll be sure to watch those videos. I just got back from hunting and I came across a few things. But of course nothing worthwhile. I found tinfoil at about 1/2 deep. I found 3 pop cans at around 1" down and a 80's beer can. I also found something huge and spent a lot of time digging about a 1'6" around but in the end decided to leave it be. It was close to 9" down or so.
I live in an appartment complex and right outside of my appartment when I came back to the park I found something. But according to the readout it was quite deep and I didn't know if I would get in trouble digging a hole outside my back door since it's a wide open area that is used for many of the apartment complexes in the area.

Welcome to the forum! Usually, if a target reads deep, and the signal is loud, it's a piece of large metal, like a pop can or a coffin or something.