Keeping What You Find

7geez

Greetings all,

I'm brand new to metal detecting. When you get permission to hunt on someone's property, what is the general rule -- Do you usually keep everything you find, even if valuable? Or, should you offer the things of value you find to the owner of the property? I've only hunted public places and my own yard so far. Just wondering what your views are on the "ethics" of hunting and keeping what you find on private property. I feel like I should turn over valuable items to the owners but that kind of takes the fun out of doing it at all. What say you?

Welcome to the Friendly Forum!!

I would not mind if I have to give up a few goodies, in order to keep some..

You can spend 20hrs in a park for one silver (if you are lucky, in these parts), or 5hrs in a yard for 2 silvers? If you give 1 of those 2 up, you are still 15hrs ahead of a park hunt....

Just my 2¢

<*)))>{

There have been lengthy threads tackling this issue. The consensus is..................................................................................??????:D

My own theory is that I prefer to keep my finds if possible. (I'm doing the work(fun:grin:)

If if I find an identifiable object that might have sentimental value, I would most likely try to unite it with the person having the sentiment.

If helping someone with a find, within reason, gratis.

Ultimately, you are the judge :D

I primarily hunt private property all the time and 99% of homeowners tell me before I even hunt keep what I find....and then a lot of people saying stuff like anything over a million we split! then they laugh. I think MOST people I come in contact with assume there is nothing good in their yard

I say keep whatever you find (Like coins and stuff), but if you find anything that may have sentimental value (Like a toy or jewelry) ask if the person ever had something lost something in their yard, if they did, ask for them to describe it, GL HH