Minelab X-Terra 9" Concentric 3Khz Coil Review

Surfchunker

Elite Member
Ordered it from Bart @ BBT and it came today so I went out for a few hours and had been spying a house built in 1900 that is about to be tore down for a truck stop and figured I better hit it. 2 zinc pennies and a 30-06 case after an 1.5 hour. so back to the Honey Hole and give it a real test cause I've been hitting it hard for a couple months, first target was a 40-42, oh that's a good number and out popped a lawnmowered quarter, no silver, oh snap, oh well time to move on and ended up pulling out 2 dimes, 5 pennies all copper and 2 were wheats, 45-52, and a hotwheel car in about an hour. most of them were in pretty trashy spots but the 3kHz I was able to hear them. Have to give the new coil 2 thumbs up.

I don't know whether or not he did, but I did. That coil found this little heart shaped Sterling charm w/gemstone, and the staining on the top link is from a piece of iron that was through it that crumbled away as I cleaned it.

It was about 6" deep, and gave a clear solid tone despite the presence of junk. 3kHz lights silver and copper right up!

04-30-13 Heart Pendant_1.jpg
04-30-13 Heart Pendant_2.jpg

Yes I found them amongst trash as stated in the next to last sentence. you could hear the trash but also the good targets too if you worked it slow.

I have a 3kHz coil also and haven't even had it out yet:roll: Actually the 7.5kHz has been so good to me that I am afraid I might curse myself by changing it out:lol:

if your looking for coins change it

Actually my soil here comes in at 20-35 according to the X70. I have found plenty of coins and in the last 3 hunts I have dug 4 rings,2 pendants, and one bracelet; everything was gold or silver except for one kid's ring. That's what I meant when I said that the 7.5kHz has been so good to me.:D
Will the 3kHz coil really do that much better in my soil here?:?: