• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Musket ball?

Payne

I found this ball in a field today. I am pretty sure it's a musket ball but I would like to be sure. If it is then I will stay in the field for another day or two.

Attachments

• 2011-01-07 19.50.32.jpg
    2011-01-07 19.50.32.jpg
    43 KB · Views: 1,500
  • 2011-01-07 19.51.33.jpg
    2011-01-07 19.51.33.jpg
    40 KB · Views: 1,132
Did you try a magnet? I'm no expert but to me it is too perfectly spherical. I found what I thought (hoped) was a musket ball until I got home and stuck a magnet to it :(

I tried a magnet and it didn't stick plus its very heavy. The top and bottom are pressed in a little.

It might very well be a musket ball then. Keep searching the area, might find some other relics.

Trying to judge the diameter by the piece of tape you have above it, it appears to be less than 3/4 of an inch. A set of calipers would refine the measurement, but it could be a .69 caliber round ball.

We find lots of those over here, and they come in a multitude of sizes.

They can date from anywhere from the English civil war (or before), up to
the 19th century. So are nigh on impossible to date.

They certainly give a nice signal :yes:

Thanks for the replies.

I am pretty certain it's a musket ball now because I am finding pistol balls everywhere.

SoArk, You are definitely right I need to get some calipers.

Congratulations on your find! For where you are, that puppy could date from the revolutionary war through the civil war - or even after if it was someone's private firearm!

(greetings to Beaufort! i used to stomp around there when I was in high school!)

what is the spot on top?