Wondering about AA batteries versus 9Volt batteries?

GeorgiaJay

Forum Supporter
Hi,
I am new to metal detecting and this might sound kind of like a dumb question. I have noticed that some metal detectors like White's, Bounty Hunter, etc. use two 9 Volt batteries which equals 18 Volts (Total). While other metal detectors, like Garrett use four Double AA batteries. Double AA batteries are each 1.5Volts, so four Double AA batteries equals 6Volts (Total).

Does a metal detector that uses two 9Volt batteries have any more power, stronger magnetic field, deeper depth finding, or any other advantages over using a metal detector with four Double AA batteries?

Good question, I'm curious as well. The ACE 250, I think it takes 8 AAs... iunno, I haven't changed the batteries in forever so I don't remember.

Cann't speak for the Bounty Hunter's, but the White's operates at 9 Volt. The other one is driving the audio circuit.

MXT, DFX, IDX and XLT (may be some other, too) have 8 AA sized in a battery pack. Result is 12 V if batteries are used. If rechargeables are used there are only 9.6 V. (For that I'd build a pack of 10 AAA sized rechargeables ;) .)

Some other detectors (china made) use two 9 V parallel to get more power of.

If I remember correct the earlier Garrett's used a bunch of 9 Volts batteries. But I dunno how they were connected.

You're correct by saying the voltage will drive the transmitted power.

But only to raise the battery voltage would be to easy. For best results you have to tweak transmission power and amplification of receiving circuits.

Does a metal detector that uses two 9Volt batteries have any more power, stronger magnetic field, deeper depth finding, or any other advantages over using a metal detector with four Double AA batteries?

I don't think so. I would say... no.

The only difference I've noticed is that 9 volts cost more. lol