Why is your detector so much better....

deerhunter

First off, I am fairly new to the hobby and to the forum. I have found a decent amount of clad in the past year or so, couple bucks here and there etc. I have a Discovery 2200, a cheap MD but I think it works decent. Yesterday I dug over 15 soda cans out of rocky soil, and found about $2.40 The soda cans keep showing up on my machine as pennys or zinc or pull tabs. I guess this is fairly common??? The quarters show up good almost everytime but the cans sometimes beep in the penny area, and I hate digging them up!! :)

Question #1- What is everyone's way of detecting trashy areas? Just dig everything?? Or discriminate things like...(please fill in)

Question #2- Why would a different detector do better? Do items show up as "coins, jewelry etc" or is it like mine and show up as "iron, PT, Zinc, cent, nickel etc." My tungsten ring shows up as zinc, so I dont want to miss something nice by not digging

Please let me know your feelings on this
Thanks!

Ther is no detector that will give you perfect ID's on your finds. The ones with numerical id's (usually 1-99)rather than just a picture id will give you more information and help you not to dig up as much trash. I have an etrac with 1750 possible id numbers and I still dig up quite a bit of garbage...

Question #1- What is everyone's way of detecting trashy areas? Just dig everything?? Or discriminate things like...(please fill in)

Question #2- Why would a different detector do better? Do items show up as "coins, jewelry etc" or is it like mine and show up as "iron, PT, Zinc, cent, nickel etc." My tungsten ring shows up as zinc, so I dont want to miss something nice by not digging

Please let me know your feelings on this
Thanks!

I'm new also so take this with that in mind.