North Georgia (Athens) Area?

AthensHunter

I just ordered my first "real" detector--the Ace 250 (through a lot of reading here, heh, seems that everyone's got one)--and would like to meet up with a few other North Georgia hunters to learn the ropes a bit. I've been using a cheap detector my dad bought a few years ago to find underground pipes and wiring when building on our land, and it's pretty finicky to use unless you love digging up cans, pull-tabs and old fencing. It's limited in features and inconsistent, to say the least. I'm really looking forward to the discrimination on the 250.

Anyway, I'm a student here at UGA (Go Dawgs), so I've got a lot of free time. :grin: I decided to take up metal detecting mainly due to a growing interest in history. I'm not looking to get rich (thought it would be nice), and I certainly don't expect to find gold or anything (wouldn't complain, however), but would like to get into collecting whatever I find. I've found a few areas in Athens to search, but would really like to find some older lots and areas to detect. I've done a fair amount of research, but find it difficult to find specific areas; something tells me I may have more luck talking/hunting with some other seasoned members.

I'm up for driving an hour or two if I have to, as I know that North Georgia has a lot of quality land to detect. If you're in North Georgia, by all means send me a message and maybe we can work something out! :)

Welcome to the forum! The little Ace is a good choice

Thanks!

I got a pretty good deal on the Ace, got the detector with 2 coils and 2 coil covers for $200.00. Not too bad...made it easier to pull the trigger. Can't wait to use it. :)