Entry level detector

CWrelic

I'm a newbie. So new I have not bought a detector yet!! I am looking for any advice about buying my first machine. Is it better to start off with a less sophisticated detector, or maybe mid level? Thanks for any advice.

noob myself and picked up a couple garrett ace 250s. have'n tried them yet, waithing on the snow to melt. sorry not much help. but after a month of research they looked perfect for me. will upgrade to the AT pro when my finds pay off the aces and if i'm still interested.

I would say purchase something inexpensive at first to make sure you will stay with/enjoy the hobby.You should be able to pick out a new/used machine for $200-$300 maybe even cheaper, watch the classified's on here as well as craigslist.Hope this help's,....gl/hh.

I would recommend picking a better entry level or lower mid level machine. If you buy something cheaper you may be quickly turned off when it doesn't expect like you'd think.

Good advice BEFORE you buy a detector is research. Research what you will be using it for and also research the resell value because you may not want to stay in this hobby.

Thanks for the input. Im guessing that as a newbie, I will digging on every signal? Does anyone not dig on certain signals? I've read some posts here where the signal sounded like a nail or pull tab, and yet they dug and found sliver or gold.

No matter what machine you guy, Gold will ALWAYS sound like a pull tab :lol:

Dig those. And it really depends on where you are hunting, for example, when I'm on a beach, I did everything.
Relic hunting, dig everything.
Coin hunting, just dig coins.

Also, while looking into a new detector, check on how deep the coils reach.
Some will get 4", some normal is 6", but some can go ALOT deeper.
The fisher f2 (three coil package) comes with 3 coils. 4" 8" 10"
Its around 275.00

The ace 250 has some nice packages as well, around the same price.