How do you park hunters do it?

Walrus350

Elite Member
I've been detecting for about 7 months now and 99% has been beach hunting.
The other .9% is tot lots with sand or bark.
I've done some park/dirt digging, but not for an extended period, until tonight.
I gave up after an hour and just scouted for targets for when I go back.
I use a Garrett digger and it does ok but it's so tiring! The grass at the park was the flat, matted type with some straight grass in the mix.
Do most of you use hand diggers or shovels?
I couldn't cut a round plug easily so I just made a half circle and wedged it up.
My coin popping technique need medical attention too!
I have a new respect for you all that hunt in the dirt.

When I hunt for deep old coins, I use a lesche digger to dig flaps which are about 4-5in in diameter. Works quite well for me, but it's important to pinpoint using the detector, it saves you time and reduces damage to the grass.

When I hunt for shallow coins, I use a sharpened tent peg to pry the coins out of the ground. I don't pinpoint those with the detector, I wave my pinpointer over the ground until it sounds. Hope this helps :)

I've been detecting for about 7 months now and 99% has been beach hunting.
The other .9% is tot lots with sand or bark.
I've done some park/dirt digging, but not for an extended period, until tonight.
I gave up after an hour and just scouted for targets for when I go back.
I use a Garrett digger and it does ok but it's so tiring! The grass at the park was the flat, matted type with some straight grass in the mix.
I couldn't cut a round plug easily so I just made a half circle and wedged it up.
My coin popping technique need medical attention too!
I have a new respect for you all that hunt in the dirt.