VDI influencing factors

High Tone Drifter

Elite Member
This is a question I have been mulling over for a while. I see all types of threads about various detectors and what VDI numbers to expect for a particular coin or type of metal. My question is, does it really make sense to know these numbers? I mean, correct me if I am wrong (I'm no expert) but don't these numbers vary according to a lot of factors? Soil type, composition, depth, attitude of the object (coin on edge vs. coin flat), etc....? I have found a few deep (8+) silver coins that started out with a single that would generally be more indicative to a high copper penny or clad dime but improved once the initial plug was cut and out of the way. Now, in the area I am in, if I get a high 70s to low 80s signal at 8 inches or more it has a good probability of being a small silver. What are your experiences / observations?

Thanks in advance!

HH

If it sounds good I dig it.Numbers are just a reference, another tool.But no matter what machine I use,no matter what number it is,if it sounds good I'm digging.

If it sounds good I dig it.Numbers are just a reference, another tool.But no matter what machine I use,no matter what number it is,if it sounds good I'm digging.

x2. I always decide what to dig before I even look at the numbers. Unless I'm just out cherry picking shallow clad then I pay a little more attention to them but not very often. I also like to hunt at night without a light sometimes and couldn't read the VDI if I wanted to.

I totally agree. When that sound comes in nice and high, it's digging time. I do look at the screen for checking the depth. Just my opinion, but if you rely totally on the screen to determine whether or not to dig, you are gonna miss a lot of good finds.;)