Greetings from Eastern Mass!

Khez

Greetings to all, my name is Joe. I found this site while trying to look for a metal detector. I started to buy old silver coins and figured I'd like to try my hand at actually getting out there to possibly unearth some buried treasure! Any & all help is appreciated. Still need to buy a detector as well. Thanks in advance!

Welcome to the Forum Joe! You should fit right in here! We like Silver coins and all sorts of metallic objects! Just jump right on in with questions and thoughts...get to know a few Members to follow that you want to emulate then pattern their successful habits...Post us some pictures! We like pictures!

Good morning from Ohio. While I'm new to detecting too I can tell you that if you are looking for a general detector that does well in multiple situations and not a gold specific detector there are a couple schools of though.

The first school is to get an entry level machine like a Garrett Ace 300 or 400, one of the Fisher entry', models, or even a better Bounty Hunter. Or if you don't mind waiting you can pre order the Nokta Makro Simplex+ which is looking like it's gonna be awesome and comes out any day.

The other school is that if you really want to enjoy the hobby you should wait to save up for a mid range like the Equinox 800, Garrett AT Pro/Max, etc.

Ultimately it's up to you though although most people will tell you to stay away from bargain bin detectors if you can.

Welcome from the central part of the state! Plenty of goods around here, and living closer to the shore ups your chances at gold for sure. Good luck out there!

Thank you for the warm receptions! I'm going to start a thread in the other section for relative purposes.

Welcome from Boston, Joe. I'm actually closer to Dedham than Boston proper.

If you'll be looking for advice and tips, may I suggest that you drop in on my club's annual Open Hunt NEXT Sunday, October 20th at Houghton Pond in the Blue Hills, just off Route 128.