1652 XII pence Oak Tree Shilling

FOACAD

An employee of mine brought this in to show me. He thought it was pretty interesting and just wanted to share. Said he had it in storage for almost 30 years!! From the time he found it when he was 8 and metal detecting in a field in Pennsylvania.

I knew it was an amazing piece and did a quick Google search. He has since taken it to our local museum and they now want it and will be giving him quite a sizable offer to purchase it. Getting it registered with the national numismatic association etc.

Simply awesome imo.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    56.1 KB · Views: 1,500
Yes, I would definitely get it authenicated, if I were him. I'm no expert, but it looks a little "off". Let us know if it passes muster.

He has since taken it to our local museum and they now want it and will be giving him quite a sizable offer to purchase it. Getting it registered with the national numismatic association etc.

Simply awesome imo.

Im thinkin if he did take it to the museum,they wouldn't have made a offer if it wasn't real.

Im thinkin if he did take it to the museum,they wouldn't have made a offer if it wasn't real.

Museum curators have "general" knowledge of many items in a museum but usually not an expert on most. These type of coins were hand struck between two dies and are always unevenly shown , a high or "strong" side where most of the force or angle connected and a low or "weak" side . this example has a uniformed "rounded" look all over , hence it was poured or cast in a mold. its either a pewter or "white" metal and not silver as the coin should be .