• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Buying my first detector

FolsomJohn

I'm new to the hobby and trying to figure out which detector to buy. I think I have narrowed it down between the Garret Ace 200 and 300. Being a newbie are the extra features of the 300 going to be worth the extra money or should I stick with the cheaper model and move up later after gaining skills?

I started with the ace250 its very good.
Moved up to Atpro ..way better.
Now I got one of the best . ..an Equinox!

Do you wish you had started with the better machine or are you happy with the progression?

I'm new to the hobby and trying to figure out which detector to buy. I think I have narrowed it down between the Garret Ace 200 and 300. Being a newbie are the extra features of the 300 going to be worth the extra money or should I stick with the cheaper model and move up later after gaining skills?

1. Look at the top right corner of your screen.
  2. Click on the link that says "List all sponsors"
  3. Call each one and ask them.
Our sponsors are a reputable bunch of vendors that offer new and pre-owned equipment. They give discounts to forum members too.

I always try and buy the best detector that I can afford for the area that I am going to be detecting in. Just starting out I would recommend getting one that will let you grow into it but not be to overly complicated to learn. Some of the brands that have multiple configuration menus, I would put in this category.

After you have a couple models in mind, go on youtube and look at the various review of these models and the setup. You may find models that you just don't feel you would be comfortable with for whatever reason so they can come off the list.

If you have a local dealer or someone in your area, ask to see their detectors and see how it feels in your hands.