Bounty Hunter Pinpointer

scrapaddict

I found a Bounty Hunter Pinpointer on Amazon for about $42 does anyone know if that is a good buy? I know you all prefer the Garrett but I can't spend that much right now. Seems like I read about a Harbor Freight one for $17. Does anyone know if the BH one is worth the extra?

Thanks!

I dont really think its worth the extra $$ for the BH , if you throw a toggle swith in the HF PP you shouldnt have any problems.. Until it decides to commit suicide

I have a similar one made by F2. I am still new to this, but it seems to work pretty good. Starts buzzing at about 1.25 inches away from target.

I got the BH pinpointer as part of a package deal with my first detector, QuickDraw II. It works okay, but I really didn't like having to adjust it at every hole, the on/off switch is integrated into the adjustment knob. Beeped kind of loud. I picked up a Harbor Freight, and never really used it, pretty much had it apart, and modified it from the start. Replaced the push button with a rocker switch, swapped the beeper for a vibrating motor. Turned out pretty good. I got sucked into the Garrett hype, which was everything I expected, not that thrilling. 7 months later. I was back to using the HF, since the Garrett just kept going off for no reason, and need to get sent in for repair, which only last 6 months, before having to go back to the HF, which I'm still using. It's not fancy, certainly not in a competition or race, but get the job done, and having fun. $127.50 didn't improve the fun factor all that much.

I do most of my pinpointing standing up, my target should be in the base of the plug, or not real deep in the hole. I do need to retune the HF every few holes, if there is a problem finding the target. Don't always need the pinpointer, the target sometimes just spills out of the plug, if our sand/soil is dry.