New to forum and MD. I have a question

atlantictrader

Several years ago I purchased a Bounty Hunter "Time Ranger" with the intension of starting a new hobby. But the hobby never got off the ground due to my frantic work schedule.
Now, I have changed careers and have time to start MDing. Can someone tell me if I made a good choice several years ago when I bought the Bounty Hunter "Time Ranger", or did I waste my money?
I'm 5 mins. from Rhode Island beaches and the tri-state area (RI, CT and MA) is full of historical sites.

Thanks in advance for any and all replies.

Welcome from Kansas, Middle America. Any detector is fine to start with. Have fun. that's what it's all about. Soon you'll be hooked like the rest of us.

Welcome to the forum. I am new to detecting so can't really offer advice on specific detectors. However IMO since you already own it, have fun using it and learn all you can about it, and the hobby. Then after some time you will have a better understanding of what you like and if you want to invest in another one.

Welcome to the forum from Maine.

I agree with the others here... simply enjoy yourself out there and get to learn your detector before you determine if you've made a poor choice in detectors.

I'm thinking you won't be sorry you started with the detector you chose, whether or not you truely like the hobby. You can always upgrade if you like this hobby and determine the detector is not for you.

There are people out there who use the least expensive detectors and find just as much good stuff as those with top end detectors. Everyone goes through frustration in the beginning because they find mostly, if not all, trash. We all do... and we never stop. The trick is taking your time and learning your detector. If you do that and don't quit because you can't find the riches, then you're prolly hooked.

Enjoy yourself out there. Relax. HH!

Some great friendly advise. Glad I stumbled upn this forum.