• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Metal Detector for Xmas.. Have a few questions.

KelsKels

Hey guys! Ive been researching stuff about metal detecting for a few months now and I was gifted a metal detector today! I read the guide and tried it out in my back yard. (Didnt find anything but my sprinkler heads lol) I have quite a few questions though, but Ill try to narrow them down to just a few. :)

1. How can you tell how deep an object you detect is?

2. Is there a proper way to store it? I read in the manual that it should be kept away from metal. So Im unsure where would be a safe place to put it. Where do you keeps yours?

3. Do you ever go out at night? I dont really want any attention or for people to think its strange.. so Id really like to go out at night. I live in a small town, so most places are empty past 11 pm.

Thanks so much for your time guys! Hope you all had a merry Christmas :)

Hello and welcome to the hobby. Let us know what make and model detector you received and we will be able to help you better.

First off welcome to the hobby, warning it can become addicting.