What happened to this Wheat Penny?

Chipk

Elite Member
I was going through some pennies and this one definitely caught my eye!

It’s a 1918 and it looks like it’s been slapped with the ugly stick. HARD! The wheat sheaves appear on both sides. ONE CENT appears on the face of the coin backwards. The imprinting on the back is weak and stridations run across the back of the coin.

I know that people often disfigure coins but this is so odd, I’m at a loss at how some of this would have been done.

And I’m far from an expert of any kinds in regards to coins.

Anybody have a theory, idea, or absolutely know what happened?

Attachments

• D15CBDCE-A42C-426B-84A5-859B9ECD260F.jpg
    D15CBDCE-A42C-426B-84A5-859B9ECD260F.jpg
    58.1 KB · Views: 351
  • A9D8D474-8550-47B7-AA5D-5B8BCBD1A70F.jpg
    A9D8D474-8550-47B7-AA5D-5B8BCBD1A70F.jpg
    64.5 KB · Views: 325
Those straight lines on the reverse side look like they might have came from a vice.

Maybe someone squeezed two pennies together extremely tight in a vice ?

You could try to squeeze two pennies together in a vice to see if it duplicates the same results.

Post mint damage, probably like what GKL said. Or, someone placed another wheat on top of it, and rapped it good once or twice with a hammer.

Those straight lines on the reverse side look like they might have came from a vice.

You could try to squeeze two pennies together in a vice to see if it duplicates the same results.

X2. Pretty cool effect though!

I'd agree with GKL on this one..Kids used to do things like this for amusement before Gameboy...:laughing:
Yep, there's no telling how many I put on the RR track when I was a kid.
There was also some filed down and used as dimes in vending machines.. so I hear... lol

Gary, you are like a master sleuth, excellent call with the vise marks,

Interesting.