Advice required for Newbie

minkey53

I am fairly new to all this stuff. Once had a Whites Prism 3 but didn't get chance to use it much (ex Wife moaned lol).

So I sold it but now she's gone, I am looking at a Minelab Quattro or I am told an XP Goldmaxx is good.

I dont want to wear headphones, hate them. Looking for something that is switch on and go, automatic ground balance etc.

What would you guys recommend?

Please help, I have the cash burning a hole in my pocket and dealers I have visited are biased to what they sell etc.

Simon

Are you planning on hunting dirt?

A jump from a Prism to a Quattro is a pretty big jump!

If cash is not a problem, the best would be the White's DFX or the Minelab Explorer II as far as general purpose all around machines. The often touted "huge learning curve" is really overly inflated. Both of these machines will also do well in wet saltwater SAND, but are NOT water machines. They have waterproof coils, but don't get the circuitry wet!!!! They can be "turn on and go" with excellent results while you learn and experiment further to push the envelope.