• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

First beach gold...At Pro. Now need real beach detector

medmike

Corolla OBX. Was doing towel line and found usual junk. Set AT Pro for recommended “best you can do” wet saltwater beach. Hit 15 yards or so from surf at low tide, 8 inches deap with ID 58 . Wow....now I’ve been reading up all vacation and thinking I need a deticated beach detector. I’d get a used detector and hope for under $500.....I’m once a year beach but will retire close to the shore:cool: From ring markings, it’s 14k white gold band.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    57.9 KB · Views: 453
Ive been using the Sovereign GT for over four years now. I've picked up the Excalibur for the rain and also have the CTX. It's not waterproof, but that GT with th Coiltek WOT is a great, GREAT combination. I just keep going back to it. I have two. You can find a good used ones on eBay for $400-$500.

R5

Thanks Ra1der5......I will be narrowing it down soon and Sovereign GT was on my list. Have you thought about water proof mod? I’d like to get knee to waist deep if possible.

Ps. I love Steph Curry but my Cavs are tired of those guys!

Thanks Ra1der5......I will be narrowing it down soon and Sovereign GT was on my list. Have you thought about water proof mod? I’d like to get knee to waist deep if possible.

Ps. I love Steph Curry but my Cavs are tired of those guys!

I have seen some people waterproof their GTs. I think there might be some threads in the "Make of Fix It Yourself" board. For me, that's what the Excal is for. Basically the same machine with waterproofing, but you can expect to pay about $300-$400 more. If you go Excal, look for a used Excal "Blue".

Oh... and conga-rats on the ring BTW.

PS... the avatar goes back to my Raiders tomorrow. :D

R5